Wednesday, 31 December 1980

Title: Nassau Night

Label (Catalog #): Crystal Cat Records (CC 387/388/389)

Format: 3CD

Source: Soundboard

Location: Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Uniondale, NY

Date: December 31, 1980




Disc 1:

  1. "Intro"
  2. Night
  3. Prove It All Night
  4. Spirit In The Night
  5. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
  6. Independence Day
  7. Who'll Stop The Rain
  8. This Land Is Your Land
  9. The Promised Land
  10. Out In The Street
  11. Racing In The Street
  12. 'Piano Intro'
  13. The River
  14. Badlands
  15. Thunder Road

Disc 2:

  1. "Intro"
  2. Cadillac Ranch
  3. Sherry Darling
  4. Hungry Heart
  5. Merry Christmas Baby
  6. Fire
  7. Candy's Room
  8. Because The Night
  9. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)
  10. Rendezvous
  11. Fade Away
  12. The Price You Pay
  13. Wreck On The Highway
  14. Two Hearts
  15. Ramrod

Disc 3:

  1. You Can Look (But You Better Not Touch)
  2. Held Up Without A Gun
  3. In The Midnight Hour
  4. Auld Lang Syne
  5. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  6. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
  7. Jungleland
  8. Born To Run
  9. Devil With A Blue Dress
  10. Good Golly Miss Molly
  11. C.C. Rider
  12. Jenny Take A Ride
  13. I Hear A Train / Devil With A Blue Dress (Reprise)
  14. Twist And Shout
  15. Raise Your Hand



Soundboard and audience tapes. Last known version of "Rendezvous" until 1999 and the live premiere of "Held Up Without A Gun". A tremendous show and one of the longest known with an astonishing 38 songs. The soundboard recording is released on CDs 'Nassau Night' (Crystal Cat) and 'Midnight Lightning' (Seagull) and on CDR 'In The Midnight Hour' (Great Dane). Meanwhile, the audience tape is noteworthy for including the complete "Raise Your Hand", which is cut short on the soundboard. An audio recording of "4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy)" from this show was officially released on the Live 1975-85 box set. In addition, the night’s performance of "Merry Christmas Baby" was officially released on 7”/12” vinyl in 1986 (as well as on the Very Special Christmas Various Artists benefit sampler LP/CD); "Rendezvous" was officially released on Tracks in 1998, and "Held Up Without A Gun" was officially released on the Essential Bruce Springsteen bonus CD in 2003. About 14 minutes worth of amateur film footage shot from the audience - including "In The Midnight Hour" New Year’s countdown and the first seconds of 1981, with Bruce spraying champagne all over the front row - is circulating among collectors. Thanks to Lost In The Flood for the info. Roy Bittan plays pieces of "Once Upon A Time In The West" as a prelude to "The River" and as a bridge between that song and "Badlands".


A 26 track professionally mixed master recording is also available but many songs have fade-outs. There is also a whistling / whining noise audible during quieter moments. However, it does include the complete "The Price You Pay" - the closing harmonica solo is edited on Crystal Cat's 'Nassau Night'. This recording was mixed by an assistant engineer at the Record Plant and here's the information directly from him: "I was working as an assistant engineer at the Record Plant, and we recorded a number of shows on the tour for a live album. When they came back to Los Angeles, Toby Scott was starting to mix. I asked him if he would allow me to do a mix and evaluate my skills. He let me use the 24 track masters to do one song. He liked what I did and said if I want to play some more I could. I had forgotten about the tapes until a few days ago while going through some old boxes." This pro-mixed recording is available on CDR 'Nassau Coliseum - From Master Tapes' (Ev2).


8 Brucebase





External Download


File Size: 307.61 MB

File Link: [Download]


é Anonymous



Vito Laricchiuta said...

One of the greatest concerts ever!

Anonymous said...

Good one!! Thank you!

Anonymous said...

The Holy Grail in the World of Springsteen Bootlegs. 4 Hour Show !!!!! Incredible, Mystery, Huge, fantastic, phenomenal, gigantic. Great Sound !!! For me the Best Bootleg from the Boss!!!

Anonymous said...

Super son. Très bien enregistré. Bravo

Anonymous said...

Thank you very much.

Post a Comment