Friday, 2 October 2009

Title: Rocking Down The Giants

Label (Catalog #): The Godfatherecords (G.R. 451/452/453)

Format: 3CD

Source: AUD + IEM

Location: Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ.

Date: October 2, 2009




Disc 1:

  1. Wrecking Ball 5
  2. Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out 5
  3. No Surrender
  4. Outlaw Pete
  5. Hungry Heart
  6. Working On A Dream
  7. Darkness On The Edge Of Town (Introduction)
  8. Badlands
  9. Adam Raised A Cain
  10. Something In The Night
  11. Candy's Room
  12. Racing In The Street
  13. The Promised Land
  14. Factory

Disc 2:

  1. Streets Of Fire
  2. Prove It All Night
  3. Darkness On The Edge Of Town
  4. Waitin' On A Sunny Day
  5. Raise Your Hand (Instrumental)
  6. I'm Goin' Down
  7. Be True
  8. Jailhouse Rock
  9. Thunder Road
  10. Long Walk Home
  11. The Rising
  12. Born To Run 6

Disc 3:

  1. Cadillac Ranch
  2. Bobby Jean
  3. American Land
  4. Dancing In The Dark
  5. Rosalita (Come Out Tonight)
  6. Wrecking Ball 1 5
  7. Meeting Across The River 1 5
  8. Into The Fire 1
  9. Jersey Girl 2
  10. Human Touch 3
  11. 4th Of July, Asbury Park (Sandy) 3
  12. Tougher Than The Rest 4
  13. The Last Time 4



1 2009.09.30 - Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ.

2 2009.10.03 - Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ.

3 2009.10.08 - Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ.

4 2009.10.09 - Giants Stadium, East Rutherford, NJ.

5 With Curt Ramm.

6 With Jay Weinberg.



As Godfather’s title for this release suggests, Springsteen was here to say goodbye to the venerable old stadium, with a five show stand spread across the period 30 September-9 October 2009. This is alluded to by Springsteen, not just in his opening remarks, but through the performance of a new song written especially for the occasion, Wrecking Ball, debuted at the opening show and receiving its second performance here. In the song Springsteen assumes the persona of the stadium itself, which, fortified by its illustrious history, spits defiance in the face of the demolition engineers. The E Street Band is joined by trumpeter Curt Ramm, who is most prominent on the two faster instrumental sections which I found to be the most enjoyable facets of the song.


Commentators have been quick to pick up on the way in which the song’s theme seems to have a personal relevance. Village Voice writer Patrick Doyle identifies it as “a menacing, autobiographical number.” Writing about the first performance a few days earlier in the Music Mix section of the Entertainment Weekly website, Simon Vozick-Levinson states that, “Springsteen seemed to be taunting the eroding force of time itself…(And was he really just talking about the stadium, or did I detect a more personal note of 60-year-old rock’n'roll defiance in there too?)” The Pitchfork website concurs, surmising that the song is “dedicated to the old building, living, dying [and] turning 60,” as does the Rolling Stone website in its reference to Springsteen “clearly singing about his own life just days after his sixtieth birthday.” [read more]


8Cliff, Collectors Music Reviews






External Download


File Size: 293.95 MB

File Link: [Download]


é Philip Blake




8 Philip Blake





Post a comment